Skip to content
Menu

Checkout fee calculator: what each funnel platform takes from your sales

Type a month of sales and an average order, and see the subscription, the sales cut and the card fees as one total.

By the Lander Report editors. Published 20 October 2026.

Three coin stacks of different heights beside a receipt, the middle stack with a thin slice lifted off the top to show a percentage cut

A flat monthly plan and a plan that takes a percentage of each sale produce different totals. Card processing is added in either case. Enter a month of sales and an average order value. The result adds the subscription, the percentage and processing, then sorts by the monthly total.

The figure is an estimate from list prices on each vendor's pricing page. You supply the sales and the order size. Taxes, refunds, chargebacks, add-ons, SMS usage and extra page views are a separate bill. Traffic caps and overage belong in the landing page builder cost calculator by monthly traffic.

Once that monthly software figure is in hand, the break-even conversion rate calculator shows the rate that covers your cost per click.

Estimate what each platform takes

An estimate. List prices, the published percentage, and the card rate you type. The arithmetic is written out under the result.

Sales for the month, before the platform's cut.

Used to count orders, so the fixed card fee has something to multiply.

Starts at 2.9. Replace it with the rate on your processor agreement. It changes by card and by country.

At $100,000 of sales and a $50 average order, paid monthly, with the card rate left at 2.9%, the lowest estimate is Systeme.io Free at $3,500.

Platform Plan Subscription Sales cut Card fees Total
Systeme.io Free $0 $0 $3,500 $3,500
ClickFunnels Launch $97 $0 $3,500 $3,597
Systeme.io Unlimited $97 $0 $3,500 $3,597
GoHighLevel Starterbilling cycle not stated $97 $0 $3,500 $3,597
Kajabi Basic $179 $0 $3,500This plan's listed card rate $3,679
ElasticFunnels Starter $97 $500 $3,500 $4,097
Checkout Champ Growth $300 $1,000 $3,500 $4,800
Kartra Essentials $59 $5,000 $3,500 $8,559
Notes on each platform's numbers
  • Systeme.io. 0% transaction fees on every plan, including the free one. Unlimited is stored as a monthly list price.
  • ClickFunnels. No percentage of sales on the Launch plan.
  • GoHighLevel. SMS, voice and AI are usage charges on top of a flat subscription. The list price does not say whether it is monthly or yearly.
  • Kajabi. Kajabi Payments uses that plan's listed card rate. A third-party processor adds the plan's surcharge on top of the rate you typed. PayPal is excluded from the surcharge.
  • ElasticFunnels. The 0.5% applies when its own gateways are selected. An external checkout has a 0% platform fee.
  • Checkout Champ. 1% of the sales figure you enter, on top of the plan. Card fees use the rate you type.
  • Kartra. Essentials applies 5% to the sales figure you enter. Kartra calculates that fee on net sales after refunds and chargebacks, so a month with refunds costs less than this row. Starter's fee on sales is 0%.

How the three lines are added

Orders equal the sales you enter, divided by the average order. Processing equals sales times the rate, plus the order count times the fixed fee. The sales-cut line is sales multiplied by that row's percentage. It applies only when the fee covers the checkout you selected. The monthly total is the subscription plus those two lines.

Where a vendor publishes one price and does not split monthly from yearly, the subscription column says the billing cycle is not stated. The rate box starts at 2.9% and the fixed-fee box starts filled in, so a blank form still prices processing. Replace both with the figures on your merchant agreement.

Worked example: $100,000 of sales and a $50 order

This is the default in the form, paid monthly. That is 2,000 orders, and processing comes to $3,500 on every row that uses the rate you typed.

Checkout Champ Growth is a $300 subscription plus 1% of gross sales processed through the platform. One percent of this example is $1,000, so the row comes to $4,800. Its pricing page treats standard payment-processor fees as separate from that 1%, which is why processing has its own column. Reviewers on G2 describe that per-order charge as increasing the monthly bill as volume grows. Enterprise is left out of the rows. The public pricing page advertises a lower percentage at higher volume and does not list the breakpoints.

ClickFunnels Launch is the $97 plan here, and the pricing page states that the platform does not take a percentage of customer sales. The total is the subscription plus processing, $3,597.

ElasticFunnels Starter adds 0.5% on revenue through its own gateways, $500 in this example, and the row comes to $4,097. The same page sets that percentage to zero for an external checkout. Choose external checkout in the form and $500 comes off this row.

Which platforms are in the comparison

The rows are every catalog entry that publishes a hosted checkout and a fee model, either a percentage or an explicit zero. Comparing checkout platform fees means stacking the subscription, that percentage and processing, which is what the form does.

Systeme.io charges 0% transaction fees on all plans, including the free plan, so the free plan and Unlimited both appear. GoHighLevel publishes a subscription with no percentage on processed sales. SMS, voice and AI are usage charges, and they sit outside this total.

Builders that meter visitors or page views, and do not publish a cut of sales, are priced in the landing page builder cost calculator.

WordPress checkout plugins are not in these rows. Their reviews cover how each one is priced:

Funnel platform transaction fees, scaled to your sales

At a few thousand dollars of sales, a percentage fee is a small part of the bill. Once sales are large, it is the largest part. A flat subscription stays the same. Processing grows with sales on every row, so it rarely decides which row costs less. It does change the amount you pay.

Kartra Essentials charges 5% on hosted-product sales and rebills. Kartra calculates that on net sales after refunds and chargebacks, so typing gross sales overstates the fee in a month when you refund. Starter and the plans above it charge 0%. On monthly billing, the 5% matches the difference between the two subscriptions at $1,200 of sales. Past that point, Starter costs less than Essentials.

Kajabi does not take a platform revenue share. A third-party payment provider adds 2% on Basic, 1% on Growth and 0.5% on Pro. PayPal is excluded from that surcharge, and Kajabi Payments is excluded too. Kajabi Payments card processing for US entities is 2.9% on Basic, 2.8% on Growth and 2.7% on Pro, each plus a $0.30 fixed fee. Choosing Kajabi Payments in the form uses that listed rate in place of the rate you typed.

Our take: start from the plan you would actually run

I would skip the cheapest row until that plan is one I would actually subscribe to. A free plan with a 0% fee is the lowest total at any sales volume. The limits on that plan are in its review. This calculation is only the fee. Once the plan is a real candidate, the percentage is the part that moves: at the sales in the example, 1% is a four-figure line and 0.5% is half of that. Paste last month's sales into the form, set the card rate from the processor agreement, and carry that total into the break-even conversion rate calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Does the calculator include payment processor fees?
Yes. The card column is your rate times sales, plus the fixed amount times the number of orders. When a plan publishes its own card rate and you select that path, the column uses the published rate.
What counts as gross sales for Checkout Champ's 1%?
Its pricing page applies the percentage to gross sales processed through the platform during the month. The sales box is the number that percentage multiplies. Refunds are not removed first.
Does ElasticFunnels charge on ClickBank sales?
Choose external checkout and the ElasticFunnels percentage on that row becomes zero. ClickBank is in that group, with BuyGoods, Shopify and any other third-party checkout.
When does Kartra's 5% Essentials fee cost more than paying for Starter?
Subtract the two Kartra subscriptions shown for the billing period you picked, and divide by 0.05. Sales above that result make the 0% plan the smaller Kartra bill. The monthly figure for the prices on the rows is in the section above.
How accurate is the estimate?
Close enough to compare plans, and too rough to treat as an invoice. It will miss tax, a refund, a chargeback, an add-on and any usage charge. A tier the vendor marks as custom, with no published breakpoints, is left out.

Comments

No comments yet. Questions and your own experience are welcome.

Leave a comment

Thank you. Your comment will appear once it has been reviewed.